Who We Are

The New Jersey Life Sciences Vendors Alliance (NJLSVA) is a coalition of businesses, individuals and academia who provide goods and services to New Jersey’s life sciences companies.

The NJLSVA was founded to educate suppliers on trends in industry procurement and public policy that affects the life sciences industry.

Celgene’s Robert J. Hugin Elected PhRMA Board Chairman

Washington, DC, April 15, 2013 — Robert J. Hugin, Chairman and CEO of Celgene Corporation, was elected chairman of the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) on April 12 at the trade association’s annual meeting, which was held in San Diego.

Mr. Hugin succeeds John C. Lechleiter, Ph.D., Chairman, President, and CEO of Eli Lilly and Company.

In addition, PhRMA announced that Ian C. Read, President and CEO of Pfizer Inc, as chairman-elect of the PhRMA Board of Directors, and Kenneth C. Frazier, Chairman, President and CEO of Merck & Co, Inc., as Board Treasurer.

Mr. Hugin became CEO of Celgene Corporation in June of 2010 having served as president and chief operating officer since May 2006.  In June 2011, the Celgene Board of Directors elected Mr. Hugin chairman.  

Mr. Hugin, who joined Celgene in 1999, has been instrumental in the strategic growth of the company, overseeing the expansion of Celgene from a U.S.-based biopharmaceutical company to a global company with operations in more than 50 countries located in the Americas, Europe, Japan and the Asia-Pacific region.  

The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) represents the country’s leading innovative biopharmaceutical research and biotechnology companies, which are devoted to discovering and developing medicines that enable patients to live longer, healthier, and more productive lives. Since 2000, PhRMA member companies have invested approximately $550 billion in the search for new treatments and cures, including an estimated $48.5 billion in 2012 alone.

To read PhRMA’s full press release, click here.