Who We Are

The New Jersey Life Sciences Vendors Alliance (NJLSVA) is a coalition of businesses, individuals and academia who provide goods and services to New Jersey’s life sciences companies.

The NJLSVA was founded to educate suppliers on trends in industry procurement and public policy that affects the life sciences industry.

2013 New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame Award Honorees Are Named

Florham Park, NJ, August 15, 2013 — New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame (NJIHoF) President Leslie R. Avery has announced that the NJIoH Board of Trustees has chosen the 2013 award winners. 

The 2013 NJIHoF winners, who will be honored on October 17 at an awards ceremony in Hoboken, are:

Trustees Award

Shirley Ann Jackson, Ph.D.

An exemplary model for inventors, innovators and entrepreneurs throughout a successful career as a theoretical physicist at Bell Laboratories, a physics professor at Rutgers University, the Chairwoman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and as the President of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Nobel Laureate Inductee

Philip Anderson, Ph.D.

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1977 for elucidating the electronic structure of magnetic and disordered systems, which allowed for the development of electronic switching and memory devices in computers. He also made monumental contributions in condensed matter physics.

Inductees into the NJ Inventors Hall of Fame 

Adel A. Ahmed, Ph.D. 

Pioneer work in bipolar integrated circuit design and worldwide use of the Ground-Fault Circuit Interrupter (GFCI) integrated circuit. 

Sander G. Mills, Ph.D 

Discoveries in cancer research and most notably the substance Aprepitant, which has had worldwide impact in patient compliance/tolerance for chemotherapy and other cancer treatments.

 Leo Schenker, Ph.D.

Patented inventions and discoveries related to touch tone dialing and its immense impact in the public switch telephone network (PSTN).

C. Frank Wheatley, Jr.

Hallmark career of innovations related to power semiconductor devices and integrated circuits and most notably the Insulated Gate Biopolar Transistor (IGBT).

Inventor of the Year Award

Joseph Giovannoli

Innovations and discoveries revolutionizing automated reverse auction systems and markets.

Ximing Guo, Ph.D. & Standish K. Allen Jr., Ph.D.

Inventions and discoveries related to the methods for chromosome set manipulations revolutionizing oyster/shellfish industry worldwide.

Richard Mammone, Ph.D.

Patented inventions related to speaker verification and recognition technologies.

Nicholi Vorsa, Ph.D.

Scientific research and monumental contributions to disease-ridden cranberries and the cranberry industry.

Innovators Award

Treena L. Arinzeh, Ph.D.

Renowned research and inventions utilizing biomaterials and regenerative medicines for orthopaedic and neural disorders.

Scott C. Kachlany, Ph.D.

Renowned research in discovering new agents in the treatment of leukemias.

Roberto Rojas-Cessa, Ph.D.

Renowned research in the areas of broadband and high-speed networks and a wide range of computer communication technology applications.

Antonio Valdevit, Ph.D.

Renowned innovations related to spinal research and new medical devices for treatments thereof.

Jenny Zilberberg, Ph.D.

Research related to multiple myeloma cancers and ex vivo method to determine effectiveness of personalized treatment strategies.

Advancement of Invention Award

Beatrice Hicks, D.Sc. (Hon)

Inventions and discoveries related to gas density sensors and their market use and applications worldwide, and for promoting women in the field of engineering.

Yu-Dong Yao, Ph.D.

Innovations and technology advancements in the field of satellite communications, CDMA radio link protocols and their use in multiple networks, along with being an esteemed professor at Stevens Institute.

Corporate Award

Celgene Corporation

Research and Entrepreneurial Leadership: develop, manufacture and sell drug therapies for cancer and inflammatory disorders.

Special Award

Barry H. Katz, M.D.

Advanced technology and stabilization devices for use in athletic shoe/sneakers.

Graduate Student Award

Xuening Chen, Ph.D.

Research related to biomimetic bone tissue engineering and regenerative medicines.

Chun-Hao Lo, Ph.D.

Research related to alleviating solar energy congestion and distribution grids via smart metering communications.

Khondaker Salehin, Ph.D.

Patents related to advancing schemes for measurements of Internet performance parameters.

Wenting Zhang

Research related to multiple myeloma cancers and ex vivo method to determine effectiveness of personalized treatment strategies.

Annual Banquet on October 17 in Hoboken

The 2013 Annual Awards Banquet will be held on October 17 at the W Hotel in Hoboken, New Jersey. 

“We welcome groups and individual attendees, and enjoy seeing new faces as well as familiar ones,” Avery said.  “The Annual Awards Banquet is considered by many to be an opportunity to connect with fellow innovators, forge new relationships and revisit old ones.  It is also customary for the New Jersey Governor’s Office to celebrate with us at the ceremony.”

Details about the banquet and the purchase of tickets can be found on the NJIHoF website

Tickets must be purchased in advance, and will be on sale at $150/person through Friday, October 11.  Contact Paige Continentino at Greenberg Traurig, LLP – continentinop@gtlaw.com or 850-425-8551, for more information or to purchase your tickets.  Tables may be reserved for groups of 8-10 people.

“We also encourage you to consider placing an advertisement in our banquet program,” Avery said.  “This is an excellent opportunity to honor an award winner, promote your business or organization and show others that you value the continued recognition of New Jersey’s inventors.  Many sponsorship options include complimentary banquet tickets.  Please see the ‘Partners’ page on our website for sponsorship levels.  The artwork deadline is September 20th.”

The NJIHoF is co-sponsored by Stevens Institute of Technology and Greenberg Traurig, LLP.

To view past winners, click here.