Who We Are

The New Jersey Life Sciences Vendors Alliance (NJLSVA) is a coalition of businesses, individuals and academia who provide goods and services to New Jersey’s life sciences companies.

The NJLSVA was founded to educate suppliers on trends in industry procurement and public policy that affects the life sciences industry.

12th NJ Symposium on Biomaterials Science Calls for Posters; Forum Set for October 6 –7

New Brunswick, NJ, June 19, 2014 — The New Jersey Center for Biomaterials has announced that the 12th NJ Symposium for Biomaterials Science, “Bioactive Scaffolds: From Synthetic Polymers to ECM to Decellularized Tissues,” will be held October 6 and 7 at the Heldrich Hotel in New Brunswick, NJ.

In addition, the host organization is now calling for poster abstracts, which are due no later than Tuesday, July 1. 

It is seeking submissions from academia and industry to present novel research on therapeutic and diagnostic applications of biomaterials.  Preferred topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Chemical approaches to creating bioactive materials
  • Approaches for regeneration of musculoskeletal tissues
  • Enhancing stem cell-based regenerative therapies with biomaterials

All selected abstracts will be published in the 12th Symposium proceedings.  You will be notified by August 1, 2014 of your selection.

For submission information and instructions, click here.

This year’s event will address the universe of biomaterials from synthetic polymers to processed natural tissues, and their development into new medical products.  This biennial event is regarded as the premier regional meeting on Biomaterials.

The following is a list of symposium speakers as of June 19:

  • Nathaniel Bachrach – Lifecell
  • Mohit Bhatia – Celgene
  • Curtis Cetrulo – Mass General Hospital
  • Chris Chen – Boston University
  • Marc Cicerone – NIST
  • Elazer Edelman – Harvard/MIT
  • Mirka El Fray – W. Pomeranian University
  • Charles Gatt – RWJMS/ Rutgers
  • Ashutosh Goel – Rutgers
  • Teja Guda – University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Scott Guelcher – Vanderbilt
  • John Harper – Kinetic Concepts, Inc.
  • Abraham Joy – University of Akron
  • Hilton Kaplan –Rutgers
  • Joachim Kohn – Rutgers
  • Jennifer Lewis – Harvard
  • Elizabeth Loboa – NC State University
  • Prabhas Moghe – Rutgers
  • Laura Niklason – Yale
  • Liz Pluhar – University of Minnesota
  • Kurt Pricer – J&J Sterilization
  • Mahendra Rao – NIH
  • Joseph Rosen – Dartmouth
  • Charles Roth – Rutgers
  • Jean Schwarzbauer –Princeton
  • Michael Sefton – University of Toronto
  • Molly Shoicet – University of Toronto
  • Doug Smith – University of Pennsylvania
  • Cathryn Sundback – Mass. General Hospital
  • Menas Vratsanos – Intertek
  • Gordana Vunjak –Novakovic – Columbia University
  • Murty Vyakarnam – Lubrizol

Early-bird registration ends September 1.  For additional information or to register for the October 6 –7 event, click here.